Initial Impressions: “The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green

This morning, I decided to (finally) pick up the copy of John Green’s The Fault In Our Stars that was sitting on my bookshelf. I’ve been able to start reading it during school, and have gotten a couple of chapters in, so I felt like I should share my initial impressions with all of you.

  • I really like Hazel’s character. I honestly was not expecting to like her as much as I have been so far, but here I am, wanting to keep reading because of her voice, and because of some of the comments that she makes.
  • The whole dynamic between Augustus and Hazel was beginning to bother me, though. I guess I just found it to be odd, how quickly they seemed to start really liking each other. I mean, I know that some people believe in “love at first sight,” but things just moved at what I felt to be a rather unnatural pace.
  • The writing style is compelling enough to keep me turning the pages and wanting to read more, which I find to be a definite plus. After hearing such good things about this book, I was really hoping that I wouldn’t have to drag myself through the story; so far, that hasn’t been an issue.

So there you have it, folks.
Those are my thoughts so far on the novel, and hopefully you’ll stay tuned for my review, which will (hopefully) be coming up in the next day or so.

One comment

  1. […] relationships of any kind take time, especially ones that are like theirs. Like I mentioned in a previous post, the pace just seemed to be a little too quick and thus, rather unnatural. Most of the other things […]

Your thoughts?

