“The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green

But it is the nature of stars to cross, and never was Shakespeare more wrong than when he has Cassius note, ‘The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars / But in ourselves.”

I arbitrarily decided to begin reading The Fault In Our Stars after seeing it on my bookshelf every day for the past month or so, and upon finishing, I was glad that I did. While there were some elements of the book that I was not too fond of (more of that later), the overall story was a good one, and Hazel’s character was quite strong- something I can really appreciate.

As I mentioned above, though, there were some things that bothered me about the story. While they didn’t detract from my enjoyment of it too much, they were still there and waiting to be noticed.
The first thing that struck me, even from the beginning of the novel, is the speed at which Augustus and Hazel started to really like each other. In my experience, relationships of any kind take time, especially ones that are like theirs. Like I mentioned in a previous post, the pace just seemed to be a little too quick and thus, rather unnatural.
Most of the other things that I noticed come in as the book is nearing its end, so I won’t go into detail about them so as not to spoil the story for you, dear reader.

Overall, I will say that I liked the book. Despite its flaws, it was still a compelling story, and I was able to maintain my interest in it for the couple days that it took to read.
And now, finally, I’m no longer the only teenage girl I know who hasn’t read (or seen) The Fault In Our Stars.

Your thoughts?

